Rank Advancement

Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and steps in overcoming them through the advancement method. Scouts plan their own advancement and progress at their own pace as they meet each challenge. Scouts are recognized and rewarded for each achievement, which helps them gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help a Scout grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others.

Ranks in Scouts BSA


The first rank is Scout. It is earned by new members of a Scouts BSA troop. This rank allows them to become acclimated with Scouting and its goals.

Scout Rank Requirements


The second rank is Tenderfoot. Scouts become more comfortable with their fellow members as they participate in more outings and campouts.

Tenderfoot Rank Requirements

Second Class

The third rank is Second Class. Scouts hone their skills in cooking, first aid, and aquatics.

Second Class Rank Requirements

First Class

The fourth rank is First Class. Scouts at this point have gained knowledge and experience that allows them to mentor younger Scouts as they progress through the program.

First Class Rank Requirements


The fifth rank is Star. Scouts have now obtained enough experience to begin leading the troop and directing its activities. Scouts volunteer to take on leadership roles and positions of responsibility.

Star Rank Requirements


The sixth rank is Life. Scouts at this level are highly skilled in outdoor techniques and are able to effectively lead the troop. They must now continue on the path to Eagle.

Life Rank Requirements


The seventh and final rank is Eagle. Scouts must serve in a position of responsibility and must also complete an extensive service project that demonstrates their leadership and organizational abilities.

Eagle Rank Requirements